President's Office

President Joyce Helens began her leadership role at St. Cloud Technical & Community College July 1, 2006.

Under her vision and guidance, SCTCC has:

  • Been a leader in good stewardship of the campus Master Plan to support student needs:
  • Led MnSCU campuses by becoming one of the first tobacco-free campuses in 2010.
  • Increased cooperation with other MnSCU campuses, in particular SCTCC’s sister institution St. Cloud State University, to share resources. These include telecommunication systems, security, student housing, institutional research, and curriculum.
  • Added new programs that meet the ever-changing needs of the region, including Health Information Technology (2006), Health Data Specialist (2011) and Nuclear Energy Technician (2011).
  • Expanded to a comprehensive community college in 2010, offering the Associate in Arts degree in liberal arts and sciences in addition to its valuable technical programs.
  • Become one of the fastest growing colleges in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System.
  • 2008 Honor Award from the American Institute of Architects for the Workforce Center Addition and Renovation, which allowed for a strong partnership between the college and center to help get Minnesotans trained and back to work. (Architect: Perkins + Will).
  • August 2011 grand opening of Health Sciences Building, an acquisition and renovation to provide cutting-edge simulation labs for signature programs in healthcare. The facility offers a fully functioning dental clinic that provides service to low-income members of the community. The facility also includes simulation labs for sonography and surgical technology, an emergency room and ambulance simulator as well as an on-road ambulance for training, and a variety of nursing simulation facilities.
  • 2012-13 renovation and expansion of SCTCC's automotive technology, auto body, and medium/heavy truck programs to increase capacity and meet the demand for skilled workers in these areas.
  • 2012-13 acquisition and renovation of facility for digital learning commons and student activities center.

Community engagement:

Greater St. Cloud Economic Development Council

Granite City Rotary

St. Cloud Chamber of Commerce

Stearns/Benton Workforce Center Council

Benton County Economic Development Executive Committee

Prior leadership:

Executive director, University of Alaska Statewide System Corporate Programs

Dean and chief instructional officer, University of Alaska Anchorage

President, Peninsula College, Washington

Executive dean (founding dean), Continuing Education & Economic Development, Collin County Community College, Texas

Her awards and honors include:

A Woman of Honor, Alaska Federation of Business & Professional Women

Chancellor's Award for Excellence, University of Alaska Anchorage

Governor's Affirmative Action Policy Council Commendation, Washington State


Contact Info

320.308.5000 or 1.800.222.1009

1540 Northway Drive
St. Cloud, MN 56303